JL Juice Cleanse day 2

Posted on

The second day has begun and although I wake up feeling sleepy I am surprised that I don’t have any form of crazy hunger pangs or stomach pain. I start my day relaxed reading and drinking water and then decide to get creative in the kitchen for my primal recipes…and I have not even had a bite or a taste!

You see whilst I am juicing my mother is primal eating so I am creating some lovely recipes for her to enjoy which I will be able to enjoy next week and which I will post just in case you might be interested in my savoury cracker and chocolate chip and coconut slices.

But back to the matter at hand, making the food did not actually cause any hunger pangs either so I am happy today, let’s see how I feel after my swim.

Today’s juice was cauliflower-tastic, in fact that shall be its name. It has to be said that cauliflower is not the most popular of cruciferous vegetables on the dining table, unless with lashings of cream cheese sauce. However you might be interested to know that 1 cup of cauliflower provides you with over 80% of your recommended daily intake of Vitamin C! Brilliant!

Cancer prevention is a top selling point for this funny looking veggie. Since cauliflower provides special nutrient support for the three body systems, closely connected with cancer development as well as cancer prevention:  (1) the body’s detox system, (2) its antioxidant system, and (3) its inflammatory/anti-inflammatory system. Chronic imbalances in any of these three systems can increase risk of cancer, and when imbalances in all three systems occur simultaneously, the risk of cancer increases significantly.

Perhaps not surprisingly, cauliflower also aids digestion, has anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory properties and supports the function of our cardiovascular system. Not bad! Good work team cauli!

If cooking make sure you steam lightly so there is still crunch and another idea is to blend it raw, on a low setting till it has the consistency of cous cous and sprinkle on top of salads, soups, or whatever takes you bloomin’ fancy!

Back to this mornings juice:

Cauli-tastic

5 hands of spinach
2 kiwi (topped and tailed)
1/2 cauliflower
1 courgette
1″ piece of ginger
Squeeze of lime

20120801-141355.jpg

The swim was much needed, and appreciated. It was a great little heart rate booster and I finished feeling refreshed and justified in making my next juice. I have to admit I am starting to feel a little low on energy this afternoon so I plan to chill out for a while when I get home with my new book (The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sissons)…I am very excited!

For this juice I have chosen to use Coco water (the only ingredient I will ever buy prepared) due to its amazing nutritional qualities, especially balancing electrolytes post workout. So this is the perfect replenishment juice for me:

Coco Gogo

5 hands spinach

250ml coco water

1 large cucumber (topped and tailed)

1 green apple (cored)

20120801-175757.jpg

…Come 7pm, and the hunger sets in (I never thought this would be a breeze), the tepid lemon and ginger green tea and glasses of water cannot stave off the hunger. The low energy is felt and I know I need another juice. Feeling my blood sugar dip I am making this one up using a good dose of fruit. It tastes divine and instantly I feel more alert and energetic. It is quite filling too:

Energy boost

15 strawberries (topped)
4 sticks of celery (topped and tailed)
2 hands of spinach
1 courgette (topped and tailed)
1 pear (topped and tailed)
1″ ginger (peeled)

20120801-201854.jpg

Enjoy juicykins! JL x

One response »

  1. starry eyed gem

    Wow sounds amazing, so much good stuff packed into one post , and shake!

    Reply

Leave a comment