RSS Feed

Chocolate Chippers…Mini Cupcakes (Primal)

Posted on

Deary me, today is a day for a midweek pick me up treat…and what a treat I have for you! I made this recipe a while back as a slice cake, but today I felt it deserved the cupcake treatment. I am very excited about these, as I am with pretty much all of my bakey goodies, but this one is different as it contains DARK CHOCOLATE…which has to be in my top 5 for delicious indulgence! Yummers!

As I am writing this I can smell my mini cupcakes baking, and boy do they smell goooood!

I purchased a little wonder book yesterday: the antioxidant counter by Dr. Mariza Snyder & Dr. Lauren Clum.

In reading, I discovered a little something called the ORAC scale (Oxygen Radical Absorbency Scale). Now this scale tells us which foods are richest in antioxidant levels as examined in vitro (in a culture dish) in a lab. Although there has been criticism for lack of credibility, I personally think it is a good guide to gain knowledge of the basics in regards to the best foods with antioxidant properties and so I am using it casually to guide myself.

Antioxidants primary job is to stop free radicals before they damage the body. Free radicals are a by product of oxygen. During aerobic metabolism, every cell in the body utilizes oxygen to make energy so that it can do its job…formation of free radicals in the body is a normal process; however there are certain factors that can increase the production of free radicals: stress, pollution, tobacco smoke, processed foods and drugs to name a few. SO in eating a diet rich in foods containing antioxidants we can naturally keep a healthy balance and avoid any long-term damage to our health.

Why am I babbling on about antioxidants when you just want the recipe? D.A.R.K C.H.O.C.O.L.A.T.E! Oh those two words! According to my little book, Dark baking chocolate (unsweetened) has an ORAC value of 49,926. Let me put this into an extreem perspective for you, milk chocolate (reduced fat variety) has a value of 1,263. Now I am no math whizz, but I am guessing that the dark chocolate has better antioxidant properties and benefits than the milk and low fat variety! SO which one do I choose…no brainer really!

Chocolate Chippers Mini Cupcakes (Primal)

Ingredients

  • 2oz Almond flour (ground almond)
  • 1.5oz Desiccated coconut
  • 1.5oz Dark chocolate cooking chips (organic)
  • 1oz Butter
  • 2 Eggs

Directions

  • Pre heat a fan-assisted oven to 170°c
  • Measure and mix the flour and coconut into a bowl
  • Chop and rub into the dry mixture the butter
  • Whisk the eggs and mix with the other ingredients
  • Add the dark choc chips and mix till an even consistency
  • Spoon evenly into a cupcake tin (I used a mini tin and made 12 mini cupcakes)
  • Allow to bake on the top shelf for 20 minutes or until golden brown and bubbling with chocolate.

Tip out to cool on a rack and see how long you can wait before you have to gobble one up! I challenge you! Enjoy cupcakekins! JL x

Leave a Reply

